Mechanics Cooperative Bank is proud to announce that Casey Arruda of Somerset Berkley Regional High School, Oeghan Blanchard of Bristol Plymouth Regional Technical High School, Alexander Bejarano of Silver Lake Regional High School, Sydney Borrello of Dighton-Rehoboth Regional High School, Brannagh O’Donnell of Apponequet Regional High School, and Jacob Machado of Joseph Case High School as the recipients of the 2018 Mechanics Cooperative Bank Scholarship Awards. The Mechanics Cooperative Bank scholarship program was created to support local students who excelled in academics, athletics and community service, to help toward their pursuit for higher education.

Arruda recently graduated from Somerset Berkley Regional High School as a member of the National Honor Society, where he excelled in academics and was a member of the Robotics Club and School Newspaper. Arruda is also the co-founder and co-president of the “We Stand Strong” Foundation, which helps people and communities suffering from natural disasters and tragedies. He will be using his passion for helping others by majoring in biology with an emphasis on global public health when he attends Clark University in the fall.

Blanchard graduated from Bristol Plymouth Regional Technical School, where he not only excelled academically but also excelled in the HVAC technical program. He was a member and team captain of the school golf team. Additionally, Blanchard is the recipient of the School On Wheels – Volunteer of the Year Award. He will be attending St. Michael’s College where he will pursuit a degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Bejarano recently graduated from Silver Lake Regional High School where he excelled academically and athletically. In addition to being a member of the National Honor Society, he was the captain of the varsity baseball team as well as the co-captain of the varsity basketball team. Outside of school, he volunteered for the Boston Food Bank organizing and distributing donations, as well as with Our Lady of the Lake Church as a religious education volunteer. Bejarano will attend Stonehill College in the fall where he plans to focus on both biology and Spanish.

Borrello of North Dighton recently graduated from Dighton-Rehoboth Regional High School. In addition to being a member of the National Honor Society and a varsity lacrosse player, Borrello also participated in student government, Best Buddies, Prom Committee, DECA, and was editor of the Yearbook Committee. She will be attending Worcester Polytechnic Institute where she will major in biomedical engineering.

O’Donnell graduated from Apponequet Regional High School, where she placed in the top 10 percent of her class and was a member of the National Honor Society. She was a long-distance runner for the winter track team as well as a bagpipe player for the Worcester Kiltie Pipe Band. Her musical skills took her around the globe where she competed in solo bagpipe and band competitions. She will attend Trinity Western University where she will major in business with a concentration on human resources.

Machado was the sixth and final recipient of the 2018 Mechanics Cooperative Bank Scholarship award. As a graduate of Joseph Case High School in Swansea, he was active in athletics where he played both baseball and golf. He was the golf team captain, announced as MVP and was also named all-star for both junior and senior year. Machado will attend the University of Rhode Island, where he will major in business. This specific scholarship earned by Machado was given in memory of Raymond H. Bibeau, president and CEO of Lafayette Federal Savings Bank for over 30 years. This annual scholarship was created as a result of the merger between Lafayette and Mechanics Cooperative Bank and honors Bibeau’s lifelong commitment to education and support of our local community.

Mechanics Cooperative Bank is ecstatic to award these deserving students with scholarships to help in funding their higher education achievements. Congratulations to Casey Arruda, Oeghan Blanchard, Alexander Bejarano, Sydney Borrello, Brannagh O’Donnell and Jacob Machado! We wish you the best of luck in your college careers.