TAUNTON, MASSACHUSETTS:  Mechanics Cooperative Bank is once again proud to announce the recipients of their annual Scholarship Awards!  The Mechanics Cooperative Bank scholarship program was created to support local students who excelled in academics, athletics and community service, to help toward their pursuit for higher education. There was an amazing class of highly qualified students who applied in 2020 compelling the Bank to award more scholarships than ever before!

We are pleased to announce the following nine recipients of the 2020 Mechanics Cooperative Bank Scholarships;  (1) William Castelo Pires of Global Learning Charter Public School High School (2) Avia Fraine of Apponequet Regional High School; (3) Calvin William Botelho of Taunton High School (4) Jared Roderick of Taunton High School; (5) Sydney Hadjer of Joseph Case High School (6) Ariel Ferreira of Joseph Case High School; (7) Brett Chaves of Taunton High School; (8) Thomas Panchley of B.M.C Durfee High School; and; (9) Madison Paiva of Dartmouth High School.

Pictured below with Executive Vice President of Mechanics Cooperative Bank, Deborah A. Grimes, is Ariel Margaret Ferreira and Sydney Hadjer.

Ariel is a graduate of Joseph Case High School where she was a member of the Varsity Soccer Team and National Honors Society and Student Government serving as President her senior year. Academically, Ariel was also the recipient of numerous Scholastic Art and Writing awards during her time at Case High. Ariel will be attending Wheaton College later this year and will be majoring in Political Science and Communications.

Sydney Hadjer also had a very impressive high school career. She is a 2020 graduate of Joseph Case High School and was both a star athlete and gifted student. Sydney excelled in softball and filed hockey but also enjoy theater and the Iberian Club. Sydney was a member of the National Honors Society and also volunteered her time at the local fire stations and during Public Safety Day for children.  We wish her the best of luck as she attends Rhode Island College to study radiology.

This specific scholarship earned by these students was given in memory of Raymond H. Bibeau, President and CEO of Lafayette Federal Savings Bank for over 30 years.  This annual scholarship was created as a result of the merger between Lafayette and Mechanics Cooperative Bank and honors Mr. Bibeau’s lifelong commitment to education and support of our local community.

Pictured with Mechanics Cooperative Bank Branch Manager, Nicolas DeSenna, William Castelo Pires is a well deserving recipient with an impressive high school career. Throughout his four years at Global Learning Charter Public School High School in New Bedford, William excelled in both academics and organized extra-curricular activities. He used his strong musical skills a member of the band where he played First Clarinet and in the jazz band where he played First Saxophone.  In addition to his artistic talents William was also an athlete on the Volleyball court where he led his team as their Captain during his senior year.  William also had a strong work ethic and dedication to his school as an academic performer and a student leader as a Student Ambassador.  He was not only a member of the National Honors Society but also the Vice President during his last year at Global Learning Charter Public School High School.

Brett is a 2020 graduate of Taunton High School and had an impressive high school career. Brett was the Vice President of the DECA Club, President of the Portuguese Club and Communications Club in addition to being an accomplished tennis player on the varsity team. Brett also volunteered his time at Coaching 4 Change and Taunton Day of Portugal Celebration. Brett will be attending Dean College and studying Sports Broadcasting in the fall.

Calvin William Botelho is a resident of Taunton, MA and a 2020 graduate of Taunton High School as well. Calvin was a member of the National Honors Society and a solid athlete as Captain of the Soccer Team. In addition, Calvin was a youth soccer coach and served as a member of both the DECA Club and Coaching for Change. Calvin was also an avid volunteer for the Our Daily Bread. He will be focusing on Computer and Electrical Engineering when he attends UMAss Dartmouth in the fall.

Avia Fraine is a graduate of Apponequet Regional High School where she was a member of the Business Management Club and the National Honor Society. Avia served as Senior Captain on the Varsity Cross Country team and Varsity Indoor Track Team. In addition, Avia was also an active member of the Varsity Spring Track team. She will be majoring in Accounting and Business this fall at Curry College.

Pictured below with Mechanics Cooperative Bank President and CEO, Joseph T. Baptista, Jr. are Brett Chaves, Calvin William Botelho and Avia Fraine.

President and CEO of Mechanics Cooperative Bank Joseph T. Baptista Jr. said “Students like these are prime examples of why we continue to offer the Mechanics Cooperative Bank Scholarship program annually. Their hard work and dedication to education, community, and future accomplishments are all values we appreciate here at the Bank. We are proud of each recipients impressive high school career and wish them all continued success in the next phase of his education –Congratulations!”

With total assets over $600 million, Mechanics Cooperative Bank offers a wide variety of personal and business deposit and loan products. As a Massachusetts co-operative bank, 100% of customers’ deposits are always fully insured. Established in 1877, Mechanics Cooperative Bank is Massachusetts’ second-oldest co-operative bank with eight conveniently located branches in Bridgewater, Taunton, North Dighton, Somerset, Swansea, Fall River and Westport. For more information, call 1-888-MECHANICS (632-4264) or visit Mechanics-Coop.com. Member FDIC. Member SIF. Equal Housing Lender.